My First Night

I am finally back in Brighton and could not be happier.

After 17 hours of travel, which included two planes, two trains and an automobile, I arrived at 1:15 a.m. Thursday, June 17, at the house on Elm Grove. I was greeted by Fi and her housemates James, John and Max.

The house is quaint, painted white and includes five bedrooms, one bathroom (I know!) and a small but comfy kitchen that doubles as a common room.

That night we sat up until 4 a.m. talking about my trip and getting know each other. Eventually, the wine kicked in, and Fi and I headed to bed. She had set up a mattress with bedding, a duvet, pillows and even a towel with shampoo and conditioner on it. It is so cute. My headboard is also a mirror.

As I tried to fall asleep and make the excitment of my arrival subside for a few hours, I couldn’t help but think that it felt so much like home already. I’m back with one of my good friends, hanging out with boys and doing my thing in a city I love.

This is going to be a good time.

Oh, one more thing. My name is now pronounced Mar-C-a, with an emphasis on the “Mar” part.

(Forgive me. This has not been check for AP style or spelling, and I have more post ready but I need to upload the pictures first. I am off to watch England play Algeria.)

About mmmiller05

If Marcia Miller had to pick up everything and leave, then she'd make sure to grab a few things before she left. First, the duffel bag is a must, followed by her laptop and iPod. She grabs her journal next, along with every CD she owns - just in case. Miller pulls off the pictures and concert tickets that adorn her walls. A towel is going to be handy too - this she learned from "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy." Finally, she grabs a handful of pens and her trusty AP Stylebook, throws her duffel back over her back and picks up her purse. Closing the door behind her, she leaves her apartment, heads down the stairs and... Well, Miller heads to your office because she's ready to do a job. She is ready to move at a moment's notice, write what needs to be written, edit what needs to be edited, promote what you think the world needs to know about. Miller's got the personality, the skills and the spunk to succeed in any situation. She's not afraid of trying new things or getting her feet wet. Her moto: If an opportunity doesn't present itself, then create one.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment