Job Hunting and The Art Exhibition

Yesterday was quite the day.

Job Hunting

I started my day off with a stroll through Brighton.

London Road has many shops such as electronics stores and dry cleaners.

I need to run some errands and really wanted to do some research on companies before the London Graduate Fair, which I attended today – it went very well by the way.

My stroll took me to Brighton Beach, where I posted up at Fortune of War, a pub and restaurant facing the beach, and used the pub’s free Wi-Fi and enjoyed a Foster’s beer. It was a very enjoyable afternoon and very productive.

My view from inside was amazing.

However, I did have to head home to get ready for the night’s activities.

The Art Exhibition

Fi and I attended Jon’s art exhibition last night at Northbrook College. It was quite interesting because A.) I had never been to an art exhibition in the UK and B.) I had never been to an exhibition ever.

Worthing by the Sea reminded me a bit of Bidwell.

It was about a 30 minute train right to Worthing by the Sea, a place that I had never been to before. It was the countryside of England and farmland could be seen. I even saw a tractor. I felt at home in Chico when I saw this.

I was surprised that such a cultural school would be settled in such a rural community, but I guess when there is nothing to do nearby to pass the time, retreating into your own mind and being creative about your entertainment is a must.

As we walked through the doors of main entrance into the campus we could see Jon outside in the courtyard with his mates. He seemed excited to see us, and within five minutes, he was giving us a tour of the exhibition.

I was impressed with the depth and detail the young artists exhibited. Some pieces were dark, emotional and sometimes a bit scary. Others were cheerful, colorful, quirky and made you just want to touch them. I wish I could have taken pictures of the different pieces, but I felt as if I would be infringing on some sort of copyright laws. I think a virtual tour of the art exhibition may be on its way courtesy of Jon D.

Spandex suits are coming back!

However, I do have this picture.

I absolutely loved this piece. I asked the photographer, Laura Brown, how she came up with the concept. Boredom was her answer. I recommend that you look out for her in the future. I’m sure people will be appreciating her spontaneity for some time.

After losing Jon D. for about 25 minutes and having a glass of wine – or three – Fi and I finally found him again, and we went to view his film. It was quite interesting and very creative – definitely something that I could not have put together. His photography and journals were also on display and were equally as good. It is nice to see someone following their artistic passions and succeeding. I hope to be able to post some of his work on here.

The soon-to-be-famous Jon D. sits with Fi, me and his friends as we wait for an overdue train.

When the art exhibition was over, Fi, Jon, Jon’s classmates and I left to the train. The train was delayed by nearly 40 minutes! We did the best to entertain ourselves. A certain pair of “pervy” goggles did the trick for a while.

These are Jon's "pervy" goggles.

We arrived home and I crashed. I had to wake up today at 6 a.m. The rest of them partied at our house until 5 a.m. I expect that will be what happens today too because England is moving through the first round of the World Cup.

Until tomorrow, Cheers!

About mmmiller05

If Marcia Miller had to pick up everything and leave, then she'd make sure to grab a few things before she left. First, the duffel bag is a must, followed by her laptop and iPod. She grabs her journal next, along with every CD she owns - just in case. Miller pulls off the pictures and concert tickets that adorn her walls. A towel is going to be handy too - this she learned from "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy." Finally, she grabs a handful of pens and her trusty AP Stylebook, throws her duffel back over her back and picks up her purse. Closing the door behind her, she leaves her apartment, heads down the stairs and... Well, Miller heads to your office because she's ready to do a job. She is ready to move at a moment's notice, write what needs to be written, edit what needs to be edited, promote what you think the world needs to know about. Miller's got the personality, the skills and the spunk to succeed in any situation. She's not afraid of trying new things or getting her feet wet. Her moto: If an opportunity doesn't present itself, then create one.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

