A Fresh New Look for Brighton and Me

Over what has been a beautiful view of sunbathing houses and apartment rests a blanket of fog that reminds me so much of a November morning outside my dorm at Falmer. I love this aspect of Brighton. In a town so colorful, the fog only brightens the painting on the houses and the personalities of the English that I encounter. Those personalities and all the things I cherish about this country will shine even more so starting today.

I look at my time here with fresh eyes. After being faced with a difficult decision yesterday that required me to put everything on the line, I can’t help but truly appreciate even the smallest of things like sounds of the seagulls nearby or the bus pulling up to the its stop near our townhouse.

I either had to leave this wonderful place Wednesday or give up last safety net to pursue a dream and stay in this country longer. Well, if you know me, you know this wasn’t easy. As much as I think no one really likes to admit this, money matters, and I like having money. On the other hand, I am a passionate person who would rather regret having done something and be able to say at least I did it than regret not doing it at all and wishing I had.

So it should be obvious the choice I made, and I feel as if it was the right one. Only time will tell if this great adventure will have been worth my time, money and effort, but something tells me that if I had gone home, I would be always be thinking that I didn’t try hard enough.

So to the people who read this account of a girl trying to make in a “big city” in a foreign country and whose loved ones are 5,000 miles away, what can I show you, what can I tell you about so that if I have to come home, at least I can say I imparted some knowledge about the world out here onto you that you wanted to know?

My eyes and ears are waiting.

About mmmiller05

If Marcia Miller had to pick up everything and leave, then she'd make sure to grab a few things before she left. First, the duffel bag is a must, followed by her laptop and iPod. She grabs her journal next, along with every CD she owns - just in case. Miller pulls off the pictures and concert tickets that adorn her walls. A towel is going to be handy too - this she learned from "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy." Finally, she grabs a handful of pens and her trusty AP Stylebook, throws her duffel back over her back and picks up her purse. Closing the door behind her, she leaves her apartment, heads down the stairs and... Well, Miller heads to your office because she's ready to do a job. She is ready to move at a moment's notice, write what needs to be written, edit what needs to be edited, promote what you think the world needs to know about. Miller's got the personality, the skills and the spunk to succeed in any situation. She's not afraid of trying new things or getting her feet wet. Her moto: If an opportunity doesn't present itself, then create one.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

