Gay Pride in Brighton

Originally written August 8, 2010

I’ve said that Brighton is colorful, but Saturday took it to a whole new level. After arriving late Friday night into Brighton and crashing on Chris’s couch,

Chris let me stay at his house, thankfully. Check out his band, "What's Your Vice?"

which used to be our couch – Well, kinda, I headed to town for the Gay Pride festivities. Before hitting The Level, I saw the parade and the crowd.

It was a massive storm of pink, yellow, blue, red, green, purple and gold fabric progressing down London Road to the

The parade was so colorful.

likes of the YMCA and The Black Eyed Peas.  People were drinking in the street, dancing to the music being projected out from the vans and buses in the parade and sharing in the celebration of pride.

I felt a bit like an outsider because while I support everything that Pride stands for and gay rights, I myself am not homosexual. So while I took pictures, clapped for the police officers, firefighters and EMTs who paraded down

Bold and proud.

This is one of the many civil servant floats that went by. I think it was doctors or nurses.

the street; and soaked in the atmosphere, I felt blessed to be able to take part in the celebration.

The day involved a lot of music, food, dancing and booze – As to be expected. After the parade, I made my way to Druid Arms for a drink, and then I went to the King and Queen to meet Fi and her friends. We proceed to do a make-shift pub crawl and met up

Fi and I at The King and Queen.

with others celebrating the occasion. The goal was to get to Preston Park where the other celebration was going on. London Road was for the parade; Preston Park was for the festival.

Preston Park was as populated as a well-attended music festival. A Warped Tour where transvestites and boy bands

It's a little blurry but you can see the big screen in the background.

were on the bill. It was awesome.  I chilled out on a piece of grass, ate Doritos (Don’t judge. I was starving.) and drank my Strongbow.

This Greg. I met him at Preston Park.

I even got to play with a dog. Others were doing similar things, and some others were doing things that are typical of a festival. But despite it all, everyone was enjoying themselves, and I didn’t see even one confrontation.

After Preston Park, I went looking for my mates. I’d lost them at the park. I wasn’t immediately successful, so I went back to Druid Arms.  And guess who I saw?!

No. This isn't Mehan but I could hemp but share this picture from the parade with you.

There at the bar is my friend Megan who I played volleyball with when I was 16 and living in the Bay Area. I was floored. I haven’t seen her in years and here she was in Brighton working. We caught up for a quick second but as I said, she was working. The world really seems small when things like that happen. Oh, good luck, Megan!

I ended my day by eating RFC and chilling on Brighton Beach. It was my plan to sleep on the beach but too many people were there. Then I was going to go chill out near the old flat because it seemed like safe place. Luckily, Kane allowed me to spend my last night at his flat instead. Not that I think I gave him much of a choice. Thanks, Kane! =)

So the verdict is: Gay Pride was and is awesome. Congratulations to California, too. I’m glad to hear that the state is living up to its reputation.

Cheers.

About mmmiller05

If Marcia Miller had to pick up everything and leave, then she'd make sure to grab a few things before she left. First, the duffel bag is a must, followed by her laptop and iPod. She grabs her journal next, along with every CD she owns - just in case. Miller pulls off the pictures and concert tickets that adorn her walls. A towel is going to be handy too - this she learned from "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy." Finally, she grabs a handful of pens and her trusty AP Stylebook, throws her duffel back over her back and picks up her purse. Closing the door behind her, she leaves her apartment, heads down the stairs and... Well, Miller heads to your office because she's ready to do a job. She is ready to move at a moment's notice, write what needs to be written, edit what needs to be edited, promote what you think the world needs to know about. Miller's got the personality, the skills and the spunk to succeed in any situation. She's not afraid of trying new things or getting her feet wet. Her moto: If an opportunity doesn't present itself, then create one.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gay Pride in Brighton

Leave a Reply

